Log in

No account? Create an account
Introduction - Meet Miriam [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
Miriam Esthela

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

Introduction [Oct. 18th, 2003|07:47 pm]
Miriam Esthela


Miriam Esthela was born on July 11, 1998. She lives in Quito, Ecuador. Quito is the capital of Ecuador and lies high among the Andes Mountains. It is known for its year-round spring weather.

In October of 2002 [when the family record was last updated], Miriam was 4 years old and weighed 31 pounds. She stood at 3 feet 1 inch. She has black eyes and black hair. She has no known health problems.

She was not attending school yet, because she was too young. Her favourite pastimes are playing with dolls and running. Her chores at home are to run errands. Her talents are dancing, drawing and singing. Miriam speaks the official language of Ecuador: Spanish.

Monthly income for Miriam's family is $80. This supports her mother, her and her three brothers. Her brothers are 18, 10 and 8. Her mother is raising the family alone because Miriam's father is deceased. Miriam's mother is 34 years old and works as a maid.

What's Miriam's home like? There is one multi-use room. The walls are made of concrete block, the roof is corrugated metal and the floor is dirt. The cooking facility is a portable gas stove. There are 2 beds in the house. Water source is community faucets. There is electricity and a latrine.

This is all I know about Miriam so far. I will write her soon and await her response. I used to know Spanish very well, but not so much now. I might try writing in Spanish, or maybe one of the next times I write I will. If I don't, a translator working for Children International will translate it for Miriam.

I received a photo of Miriam which I will post in the next post.

From: riot_inabox
2004-07-02 02:32 pm (UTC)
i was born in ecuador...

its great what you;re doing for this girl...
(Reply) (Thread)